I started a new job last Tuesday. I work at the "Victor Valley Wastewater Reclamation Authority." It's pretty decent, full time, 7am to 4pm mon-fri, I make $11 an hour and I get full benefits after the probationary period.
It's another clerical job and basically i'm an assistant again. My job duties consist of answering phones, transferring calls to the appropriate department, filing papers, running errands for my supervisor and just completing assignments/projects that are asked of me.....the past 4 days I've worked there have been interesting, on my first day I was given a tour of the facility near the main office and I've learned things about water that most average people don't know lol.... it's crazy......DON'T EVER DRINK TAP WATER....EVER...I've got to the point where I wanna use bottled water to rinse out my mouth after brushing my teeth....anyway....I've done some cool projects, my supervisor had to do a presentation on Wed. for the employees that are planning to retire so she asked me if I knew how to use power point....I ended up making the slideshow in power point for her presentation and she loved it, I felt super cool lol...I've had some challenging projects to finish that were pertaining to me making graphs that were showing the percentage of waste and water flow from the last two weeks, since I started on Tuesday I didn't know shit about shit when it came to the waste and water management but I'm getting the hang of it. I also help people in the office who don't know shortcuts in excel and word. The only thing I don't like about the job is that they keep the office freezing cold regardless of the temp. outside....so I'm sitting at my desk with a jacket on all day lol.
Also, I'm the youngest employee of the staff by a decade.... no one in the office is under 30 years old...so I feel out of place because they all have families, married, they own their own homes, they do things that I haven't done yet lol. I was thinking that maybe I could meet some new friends my age in this job but obviously not. Anyway, I like the job, it's my type of work, more clerical experience, hopefully I can stay as long as I want and grow with the company....there are a few people who work there that make $50 an hour not doing shit but walking around the office, talking, drinking coffee, making a few decisions here and there then going home then repeat, work is a breeze when you get to a management position sometimes if you're fortunate...sometimes you'll end up doing a lot more work.....but anyway....that's where I want to be....
This is a good step for me though, I started off with only 5 sessions with my counselor but he insisted that I take at least 2 to 3 months with him so I'm going to be seeing him for a while.....he says this job is perfect because it's keeping me active instead of sitting around the house dwelling on things that make me depressed, it's making me think positively, it's giving me a challenge and making me want to move forward, so yeh, I guess that's true, I haven't really been depressed since I started working....and it's not about the money, fuck money, it's about feeling like I have a purpose while I'm alive... and I have made myself to believe that this company needs me ( even though they don't ) but it's good for me to have that mind set. :)
Sunday, February 22, 2009
Life Update: Job
Posted by Eric Davis at 10:09 AM
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)




0 comments:
Post a Comment